Life, Opportunity, and Courage

“And the strongest emotion was that life was as precious as it was puzzling. It was an ecstasy because it was an adventure; it was an adventure because it was an opportunity.” ~G.K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy

Lock

In my reading of this incredible book, I have been challenged by Chesterton’s excitement for life. He saw so much opportunity and beauty and magic in merely life just because it was life. The opportunity to live and discover and learn and experience and be.

He’s right. Life should be exciting because I get to exist and do things. How often do I dread the monotony, the dead moments, and the little things that seem to have no meaning? But all of that makes up life. Life—that indescribable web in which we are allowed to find God and see Him manifested in the greatest star to the tiniest molecule.

Do I try to see this life as drudgery, time that I have to use up, hoping that the next thing will be better? Or do I see it as the opportunity that God made it to be—the opportunity to find out things I don’t know, the opportunity to enjoy love and friendship, the opportunity to experience all that is possible with my body, my mind, and my spirit?

Today I learned that seeing life as an opportunity makes me more willing to break out of my comfort bubble and touch life. Sometimes that idea terrifies me because the unknown can be so unwelcoming. But deep down I know that the unknown holds treasures unmatched by what is familiar to me. I forget that a lot.

But stepping out into opportunity is so freeing. I’m free to experience life because I’m not chained by my uncertainties and discomforts.

Today my mom encouraged me with Joshua 1:9:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

The opportunity thing is exciting (it makes life so much bigger!), but it takes a lot of courage. It’s worth it. I believe that the more riches I find in life, the more I can glorify God for putting them there. The greatness of the world is just a glimpse of the greatness of God.

Happy New Year. Find opportunity this 2014. Be brave.

~Rachel Sue

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/zitona/3350210590/”>» Zitona «</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

speak your thoughts

