Worth Celebrating

This morning I realized the beauty of Jesus’ coming like never before. I was listening to “The Promise” by Michael W. Smith. I don’t remember the exact moment, but God showed me that His Son’s birth and coming are indeed something that I ought to celebrate.

I realized that there’s more to celebrate than Jesus in a manger, surrounded by shepherds, wise men, and donkeys. That picture has never held great significance for me. However, it’s what that moment really means that is worth celebrating.

Image

It means that we no longer stumble in the darkness, blinded by sin.  

“The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light.” (Isaiah 9:2, ESV)

It means that there’s healing for our pain.

“He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted.” (Isaiah 61:1, ESV)

It means we can have perfect peace because we have peace with God.

“And he shall be their peace.” (Micah 5:5, ESV)

“And he came and preached peace to you who were far off and peace to those who were near.” (Ephesians 2:17, ESV)

He gave up His right to Heaven, became clothed in human flesh, and experienced life on earth like we do.

“For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.” (John 1:17, ESV)

I love the bright colors and cheerful decorations this time of year. I love snow and peppermint and Josh Groban’s Christmas album. But if our joy rests on gifts or certain people or some unattainable perfection, Christmas can’t bring what it promises. There’s no true joy or peace outside of what Jesus Christ brings.

Tomorrow, I want to celebrate Jesus’ coming, life, and sacrifice. And I want to enjoy my family, the movies, the music, the coffee, and the food. I want to remember that those things won’t last, but that I can celebrate the love of God every day.

~Rachel Sue

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/likethebirds/4144939402/”>likethebirds</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

speak your thoughts

