Perfect Day

Thankful

We’ve fooled ourselves into thinking that the perfect day exists. During this time of year, we do our best to feel thankful, merry, or [insert mood here]. And if we aren’t in the right mood, we feel guilty because we’re doing something wrong. Just the time I’m supposed to be the happiest person in the world, I’m not.

But the truth is that life isn’t perfect. Very rarely do all our circumstances and relationships and feelings all line up in that ideal way. I remember many holidays feeling empty, having tried to conjure up emotions that weren’t there.

This Thanksgiving wasn’t one of those days.

Early in the day, I started fantasizing about how the day could be more perfect. I imagined what and, according to my preferences, would make the day better. I felt discontent for the way things really were…the way real life was.

But before I could get very far, God stopped me and told me, “I have supplied everything you need for complete happiness today.” How unexpected…and just what I needed to know! He gave His Son and His Spirit so that we can have joy and contentment regardless of anything happening around me! If I can’t have joy right now, today, then when can I?

Give thanks…because He’s given Jesus Christ, His Son.

It’s a relief to know that I don’t have to have the right mood, the right people, or the right circumstances to be happy. Joy is something I receive along with everything else God has poured out on me through His Son, Jesus Christ.

~Rachel Sue

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/cristeenq/3063420587/”>*CQ*</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

One thought on “Perfect Day

  1. Kaitlin November 28, 2013 / 9:17 pm

    YES! Excellent post, Rachel!

speak your thoughts

